Awards and Scholarships

FarmTech Recognition Award

Each year the FarmTech Planning Committee recognizes an individual(s) who has made an outstanding contribution to Alberta’s cropping industry.

2018 – Scott Meers, Alberta Agriculture & Forestry
2017 – Murray Hartman, Alberta Agriculture & Forestry
2016 – Craig Shaw, Durango Farms
2015 – Dr. Neil Harker, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
2014 – Merle Good – Alberta Agriculture
2013 – Dr. Lloyd Dosdall, University of Alberta
2012 – Rick Taillieu, Alberta Canola Producers Commission
2011 – Barry Bishop, Ducks Unlimited Canada
2010 – Peter Gamache, Reduced Tillage LINKAGES
2009 – Denise Maurice, Viterra & Ken Lopetinsky, Alberta Agriculture
2008 – Sulo Louma, Seed Grower
2007 – Jack Howell, Alberta Agriculture
2006 – Dr. George Clayton, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada  

Sulo Luoma Continuing Education Scholarship

The Sulo Luoma Scholarship was created in 2008 in memory of Sulo Luoma. Mr. Luoma was a seed grower from Trochu, Alberta who had a life long love of agriculture and learning. Mr. Luoma served on the FarmTech™ planning committee and received the FarmTech™ Recognition Award shortly before his passing.

2015 – Breanne Durie – Vegreville, AB
2014 – Hannah Cook – Edmonton, AB
2013 – Rebecca Joseph, Chipman, AB
2012 – Amy Mayner, Bluffton, AB
2011 – Brandon Lemay – Trochu, AB
2010 – Amy Mayner, Bluffton, AB
2009 – Jessica Amber Hoffman, AB
2008 – Steve Larocque, Three Hills, AB

Scholarship Details:

FarmTech awards a $2500.00 scholarship each year. The Scholarship is being transitioned to the University of Alberta, where it will be administered by the University of Alberta and awarded to a student attending the University of Alberta. Application guidelines and details are expected to be finalized in January, 2018.

Once available, the link to apply will be located on this page.